An analysis of Joan Tower's solo keyboard works.

Cardinal Scholar

Show simple item record

dc.contributor.advisor Palmer, Robert, 1954-
dc.contributor.advisor Koriath, Kirby Lawrence, 1941- Jeoung, Ji-Young. en_US 2011-06-09T15:28:36Z 2011-06-09T15:28:36Z 2009 en_US 2009
dc.description.abstract The purpose of this paper was to analyze and discuss Joan Tower’s solo keyboard compositions through 2007. This includes five piano pieces—Circles, Fantasia, Red Garnet Waltz, No Longer Very Clear, Big Steps—and an organ piece, Ascent. Tower’s compositional style can be divided into two periods. In the first period, where serial music predominates, I discussed twelve-tone row forms and contemporary keyboard techniques as found in two works, Circles and Fantasia. In her second period, I discussed these characteristics: one movement structures, her organic approach to composition, and her use of motivic development. Further, I included a discussion of form, scales, harmony, rhythm, and some performance issues.
dc.description.sponsorship School of Music
dc.format.extent xii, 162 p. : digital, PDF file, music. en_US
dc.source CardinalScholar 1.0 en_US
dc.subject.other Tower, Joan, 1938- Keyboard music. en_US
dc.title An analysis of Joan Tower's solo keyboard works. en_US Thesis (D.A.) en_US
dc.identifier.cardcat-url en_US

Files in this item

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

  • Doctoral Dissertations [3210]
    Doctoral dissertations submitted to the Graduate School by Ball State University doctoral candidates in partial fulfillment of degree requirements.

Show simple item record

Search Cardinal Scholar


My Account