On the history of secrecy : piano sonata in five movements

Cardinal Scholar

Show simple item record

dc.contributor.advisor Nagel, Jody, 1960-
dc.contributor.advisor Steib, Murray, 1954-
dc.contributor.author Anatone, Richard J.
dc.date.accessioned 2015-05-13T12:39:47Z
dc.date.available 2015-05-13T12:39:47Z
dc.date.issued 2015-05-02
dc.identifier.uri http://cardinalscholar.bsu.edu/handle/123456789/199495
dc.description Access to thesis permanently restricted to Ball State community only.
dc.description.abstract On the History of Secrecy is an original programmatic piano sonata in five movements that is based on various historical events in which secrecy played an important role. A recurring cyclic theme occurs throughout the entire sonata, and new themes and motives are created using the same pitch class of the theme to create the sense of unity among the five movements. The work is constructed in such a way that the inner three movements can be considered a larger one-movement sonata-rondo form, with the first and last movements serving as bookends. The first movement, “Mystics,” introduces the cyclic theme along with a few other motives that play an important role throughout the sonata. It is through-composed and is based on the idea that humanity becomes more powerful and destructive as it attempts to become God. The second movement, “The Passage of Time,” is based on the connection between the Knights Templar and the Order of Free and Accepted Masons, and is sonata form. The third movement, “Revolution,” is in rondo form and is based on events and consequences of the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Civil War. These historic events are represented by musical quotations of familiar tunes. The fourth movement, “End the Fed!” is a scherzo that is based on the problems that are created by the Federal Reserve. The title is taken from the book written by Ron Paul with the same name. The last movement, “Eulogy,” is the shortest of the movements, and is written in the style of a nocturne. This strophic movement serves as a eulogy to the victims of humanity’s travesties. The accompanying document provides a review of relevant scholarly literature written about cyclic works, developing variation, and musical quotation; a background of musical sources that helped serve as inspiration for this piece; a programmatic discussion of each movement; and an analysis for each movement. Analysis of each movement provides a formal analysis and discusses elements of motivic development, as well as other compositional techniques. en_US
dc.description.sponsorship School of Music
dc.subject.lcsh Secrecy in music.
dc.subject.lcsh Cyclic form (Music)
dc.subject.lcsh Sonatas (Piano)
dc.subject.other Anatone, Richard J. On the history of secrecy.
dc.title On the history of secrecy : piano sonata in five movements en_US
dc.title.alternative Title on signature form: On the history of secrecy : sonata in five movements for the piano
dc.description.degree Thesis (D.A.) en_US
dc.identifier.cardcat-url http://liblink.bsu.edu/catkey/1784110

Files in this item

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

  • Doctoral Dissertations [3248]
    Doctoral dissertations submitted to the Graduate School by Ball State University doctoral candidates in partial fulfillment of degree requirements.

Show simple item record

Search Cardinal Scholar


My Account