An analysis of Quintet for wind instruments

dc.contributor.advisorScott, Cleve L.en_US
dc.contributor.authorStepleton, James I., 1941-en_US
dc.description.abstractThis creative project is a composition in three movements for woodwind quintet (piccolo replacing flute in the second movement). The work is a serial composition based on the following all-combinatorial row: C, E, E-flat, D-flat, F, D, F-sharp, G, B-flat, A, B, 4-sharp. The first movement is in ternary form, its B section is a palindrome consisting of new versions of the material occurring in the first A section. The second A section is a varied, rather than exact, estatement of the first part. The second movement is a five part canon with each instrument being assigned its own octave. The third movement is a rondeau. The shape and length of its parts was determined by a systematic application of the F1 bonacci series to every formal element. The duration of the Quintet is approximately 20 minutes.en_US
dc.description.degreeThesis (M.M.)en_US
dc.description.notesFor flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon.
dc.description.sponsorshipSchool of Musicen_US
dc.format.extentiii, 24 leaves : music ; 28 cm. + 1 score (28 cm.)en_US
dc.identifierLD2489.Z765 1973 .S74en_US
dc.sourceVirtual Pressen_US
dc.subject.lcshWind quintets (Bassoon, clarinet, flute, horn, oboe)en_US
dc.titleAn analysis of Quintet for wind instrumentsen_US
dc.title.alternativeQuintet for wind instrumentsen_US
License bundle
Now showing 1 - 1 of 1
No Thumbnail Available
1.98 KB
Item-specific license agreed upon to submission